SCCA 40th AGM Minutes Sunday 28th May 2017, 4.00pm by Skype

Present

lain Mackintosh (Chair), Gordon Anderson, Alan Borwell, Kevin Paine, George Pyrich, (all Skype).

Apologies

Richard Beecham, Alastair Dawson.

Minutes of the 39th AGM

On the proposal of Gordon Anderson, seconded by George Pyrich, the minute of the meeting held on 12th June 2016 was accepted as an accurate record and approved.

Matters arising from the 39th AGM

None.

President's Remarks

lain Mackintosh summarised another busy year for the SCCA. All domestic events, except the Postal League, ran on schedule and results are summarised below. Internationally, we continued to participate actively in both team and individual events (refer separate report below).

Our website was regularly updated with new content. Our Facebook page was quieter but has a worldwide following. The online magazine was produced on schedule each quarter; subscribers to the 2017 printed version were down slightly.

Once again, the SCCA has been indebted to its hard-working committee members and tournament directors, all of whom deserve generous thanks for their efforts and commitment.

Secretary's Report

Kevin Paine reported that membership currently stands at 26 Annual (2 new members; 6 lapses); with 1 new Life member. A further 100 Patron and Life members are on our list.

lain Mackintosh reported that the 2016-17 Championship was won outright by David Cumming. Mickey Blake won the 2016 Premier with a 100% score of 7/7. Andrew Macmillen won the Open with a score of 6½/8. Mickey Blake and Robert Gilbert shared the Challengers with scores of 7½/8 and 7½/12 respectively. The Postal League wasn't contested due to insufficient entries, but the Webserver League again featured 3 divisions: In 1, Hounds of the Scheming Mind B triumphed with 15½/24; in 2, Social A won with 19/24; and in 3, White Rose B finished on top with 24½/28. The 4th Annual Best Game Prize was adjudicated by Tom Matheis and won by Kevin Paine.

SCCA 40th AGM Minutes

Sunday 28th May 2017, 4.00pm by Skype

Treasurer's Report

Gordon Anderson presented a full set of accounts and once again expressed his thanks to Alan Hind for an efficient audit. We ended the year to 31st March 2017 showing a surplus of £852 (2016: -£420 deficit) and net assets of £11,185 (2016: £10,333).

Income in the 12 month period amounted to £2,131 (2016: £2,135). Increases were recorded in membership income (partly due to late 2016 renewals); one new subscription for life membership; and donation income. These increases were offset by reductions in entry fees for ICCF tournaments, interest income, team league fees, magazine income and 100 club pledges.

Expenditure in the year reduced to £1,279 (2016: £2,556). The main reason was the absence of costs for this year's ICCF Congress in Bremen, plus a modest reduction in ICCF entry fees.

Our overall financial position remains very satisfactory. Iain Mackintosh proposed a vote of thanks to Gordon and Alan Hind which was unanimously agreed. Gordon moved adoption of the audited accounts, seconded by George Pyrich and unanimously agreed.

International Secretary's Report

George Pyrich reported that our team contesting the 21st Olympiad Preliminaries currently sits on top of its section, albeit with more games completed than our nearest challengers. The Semi-Finals of the 11th European Team Championship are scheduled to commence on 1 June with our team being 1. Tom Matheis 2. Richard Beecham 3. Clive Murden 4. Alan Bell 5. Iain Mackintosh 6. Peter Bennett 7. Gordon Anderson 8. Kevin Paine.

The SCCA Selection Committee (George Pyrich, Tom Matheis and Richard Beecham) recently selected teams for the 3rd North Sea Team Tournament (1.David Kilgour 2.David Cumming 3. Robert Montgomery 4. Eoin Campbell 5. Alastair Dawson 6. Derek Price), and the Esko Nuutilainen Memorial Team Tournament (1.David Kilgour 2. Alan Borwell 3. Geoff Lloyd 4. Eoin Campbell 5. Colin Beveridge 6. Alastair Dawson). George Pyrich is Team Captain in both events.

New friendly matches were started against Canada, Indonesia, Italy and Finland during the year. A total of 88 entries were submitted for ICCF Individual events during 2016 and a further 19 to date in 2017. Our team secured first place on tie-break in the 2015/16 BCCA British Team Championship. David Cumming is our representative in the 9th ICCF Interzonal Tournament (Board 5) and Eoin Campbell is presently playing in the 4th Welsh Federation International Tournament.

All VWC3 trophies have now been received by the winners (IM Frits Bleker of Greece, Viktor Ibragimov of Russia and SIM Tor-Arne Klausen of Norway). Likewise, all VWC4 trophies have now been received by the winners (IM Reinhard Sikorsky of Germany, Francesco De Filippis of Italy and SIM Ante Ljubičić, of Croatia). This completes Scotland's sponsorship of VWCs 2-4.

Both David Cumming and Peter Bennett secured the newly-introduced CCE and CCM ICCF titles. Several other players now hold one or more norms towards one or both. The 2017 ICCF Congress will be held in Albena, Bulgaria from 2nd to 8th September, with George attending as delegate.

lain Mackintosh proposed a vote of thanks to George which was unanimously agreed. Alan Borwell moved adoption of George's report, seconded by Gordon Anderson and unanimously agreed.

SCCA 40th AGM Minutes Sunday 28th May 2017, 4.00pm by Skype

Election of Office Bearers

The following office-bearers were elected to office for 2017-18. Titled office bearers were proposed en bloc by Alan Borwell and seconded by George Pyrich; ordinary committee members were proposed by Gordon Anderson and seconded by George Pyrich.

Office	Name
President	lain Mackintosh
Vice President	George Pyrich
International Secretary	George Pyrich
Secretary ¹	
Membership Officer	Kevin Paine
Treasurer	Gordon Anderson
Committee Members	Alan Borwell
	Alastair Dawson

¹ No nomination received. Kevin Paine (enquiries and domestic events) and Iain Mackintosh (minutes and trophies) will provide interim cover.

Appointment of Auditor

Alan Hind was proposed by Gordon Anderson, seconded by Kevin Paine, and duly reappointed.

Subscriptions

Gordon Anderson proposed no change to domestic membership and entry fees for 2017-18. This was seconded by Kevin Paine and unanimously agreed.

AOB

A vote of thanks to the chair was proposed by Alan Borwell and unanimously agreed.