SCCA 39th AGM Minutes

Sunday 12th June 2016, 2.00pm by Skype

Present

Iain Mackintosh (Chair), Gordon Anderson, Alan Borwell, Kevin Paine, (all Skype).

Apologies

Jim Anderson, Alastair Dawson, George Pyrich.

Minutes of the 38th AGM

On the proposal of Alan Borwell, seconded by Gordon Anderson, the minute of the meeting held on 21st June 2015 was accepted as an accurate record and approved.

Matters arising from the 38th AGM

The ICCF Congress in Cardiff was attended by George Pyrich, Gordon Anderson and Kevin Paine.

President's Remarks

The meeting was overshadowed by the recent death of George Livie, a founder member of SCCA and long-time committee member. A minute's silence was held as a mark of respect.

Iain Mackintosh summarised another active and rewarding year for the SCCA. All domestic events, with the exception of the Postal League, ran to schedule and results are summarised below. Internationally, we continued to participate actively in both team and individual events (refer separate report below).

Our website hosting was very reliable with content regularly updated. Our Facebook page continues to attract a worldwide following. The online magazine was produced on schedule all year, while subscribers to the printed version held steady.

Once again, the SCCA has been indebted to its hard-working committee members and tournament directors, all of whom deserve great praise for their efforts and commitment.

Secretary's Report

Kevin Paine reported that membership currently stands at 30 Annual; 3 Patron (active) and 15 Life (active). A further 100 Patron and Life members are on our list. Renewals were initially slightly down, but recovered after reminders were issued.

lain Mackintosh reported that the 2014-15 Championship was won by Robert Montgomery after application of the Baumbach tie-break rule. The 2015-16 Championship was won outright by Iain Mackintosh. Raymond Burridge won the 2015 Premier with a 100% score of 5/5. Robert Gilbert won Open section A, also with a 100% score of 8/8, while Jim Anderson won Open B with 7/8. Raymond Burridge again collected the Challengers' medal, with David Cumming scoring a 100% 8/8 in his games. The Postal League wasn't contested due to insufficient entries, but the Webserver League featured 3 divisions this year: In 1, BCCA Diamonds triumphed with 16½/24; in 2, Hounds of the Scheming Mind C won with 20/24; and in 3, Civil Service B finished on top with 16/20. The 3rd Webserver Open completed, with Final A being won by Peter Bennett with 4/6, and Final B by Eoin Campbell with 9/10. The 3rd Annual Best Game Prize was adjudicated by David Kilgour and won by Peter Bennett.

SCCA 39th AGM Minutes

Sunday 12th June 2016, 2.00pm by Skype

Treasurer's Report

Gordon Anderson presented a full set of accounts and once again expressed his thanks to Alan Hind for an efficient audit. We ended the year to 31^{st} March 2016 showing a deficit of £420 (2015-£272 surplus) and net assets of £10,333 (2013-£10,754).

Income in the 12 month period amounted to £2,135 (2015-£2,384). There were a number of reasons for the reduction with the main contributors being a reduction in membership fees, reduced donations, reduced Magazine income and a further reduction in 100 club income. These reductions were in part, offset by fees generated in respect of an increase in entries to ICCF competitions.

Expenditure in the year increased to £2,556 (2015-£2,120). The increase in expenditure results from costs incurred in attending the ICCF Congress in Cardiff and increased fees payable in respect of entries to ICCF tournaments. Small increases in expenditure were seen in other areas, however savings were achieved through not making donations as we had done in the previous financial year.

Our overall financial position remains very acceptable. Iain Mackintosh proposed a vote of thanks to Gordon and Alan Hind which was unanimously agreed. Gordon moved adoption of the audited accounts, seconded by Alan Borwell and unanimously agreed.

International Secretary's Report

George Pyrich reported that the newly-formed SCCA Selection Committee (George Pyrich, Tom Matheis and Iain Mackintosh (substituting for the unavailable Richard Beecham) recently selected team for the 21st ICCF Olympiad with the following board order: 1.Richard Beecham 2.Clive Murden 3. Alan Bell 4. Iain Mackintosh 5. Peter Bennett 6. Gordon Anderson (with George Pyrich as Team Captain). (Tom Matheis, presently playing in a GM level event organised by the German Federation declared himself unavailable for selection.)

Play is presently continuing in the recently commenced NATT 7 event and news is still awaited of the 3rd North Sea Team Tournament originally planned to start in September. Play is continuing in the 2015/16 British Team Championship where our team has made a promising start (7.5 from 10 games). Presently news is awaited with regard to the next British Championship scheduled to begin towards the end of the year.

New friendly matches were started against Australia and USA. Our form shows metronomic consistency, with no wins in the last year! We continue to supply individual entries to a broad range of ICCF events, with the DE 10th Anniversary Open tournament and the 9th Veterans World Cup being the most recent.

We continue our support of cycles 2-4 of the ICCF Veterans' World Cup. VWC2 is now fully complete. VWC3 has concluded, being won by IM Frits Bleker of Greece, ahead of Viktor Ibragimov of Russia and SIM Tor-Arne Klausen of Norway. First and third places have received engraved quaichs presented by the Scottish CCA; second place is still at the engraving stage due to communication and linguistic delays. VWC4 has 12 games outstanding, some of which will affect final placings. At present, IM Reinhard Sikorsky of Germany looks the likely winner.

The 2016 ICCF Congress will be held in Bremen from 14th to 20th August, with George attending as delegate.

Iain Mackintosh proposed a vote of thanks to George which was unanimously agreed. Alan Borwell moved adoption of George's report, seconded by Gordon Anderson and unanimously agreed.

SCCA 39th AGM Minutes

Sunday 12th June 2016, 2.00pm by Skype

Election of Office Bearers

The following returning office-bearers were elected to office for 2016-17, proposed en bloc by Gordon Anderson and seconded by Kevin Paine:

Office	Name
President	lain Mackintosh
Vice President	George Pyrich
International Secretary	George Pyrich
Secretary ¹	
Membership Officer	Kevin Paine
Treasurer	Gordon Anderson
Committee Members ²	Alan Borwell
	Alastair Dawson

¹ No nomination received. Kevin Paine (enquiries and domestic events) and Iain Mackintosh (minutes) will provide interim cover.

² Jim Anderson is not currently an SCCA member.

Appointment of Auditor

Alan Hind was proposed by Gordon Anderson, seconded by Alan Borwell, and duly reappointed.

Subscriptions

Gordon Anderson proposed no change to domestic membership and entry fees for 2016-17. This was seconded by Kevin Paine and unanimously agreed.

AOB

Our policy statement regarding membership eligibility and international selection needs to be revisited and clarified if necessary. (Action: Executive Committee)

We need to encourage more members to stand for committee. A draft of committee roles and skills requirements is to be produced for circulation. (Action: lain Mackintosh)

A vote of thanks to the chair was proposed by Alan Borwell and unanimously agreed.